It's been a very exciting morning as I found one of my recently 'berried' shrimps was walking happily round the tank with her nice new blue shell and bright yellow saddle on her back, but no sign of the eggs. I had been a little worried yesterday as the reddish coloured eggs seemed to have thinned out as though lots of them had disappeared and the remaining ones she was carrying looked pale and almost white. I had assumed that things had not gone very well and that she had lost some of the eggs and that these last few remaining ones would also vanish to nothing. It was a great relief to see her looking so bright coloured and healthy looking when I checked on her this morning. Unfortunately my camera battery was 'exhausted' yet again so while it is on charge (I seem to sit constantly trying to photograph the tank) I had to resort to the camera on my mobile so quality is rubbish.
A little later on, whilst trying to take a look at the old shell that she had shed inside the darkness of the coconut cave, I noticed a sudden movement through the water and was really lucky to see one tiny baby shrimp sitting on the piece of bogwood. Again, as my camera is still charging I was only able to grab a couple of pictures with my mobile phone camera so the quality is shockingly poor, but considering the minute size of the shrimplet I am just pleased to have even captured anything.
Picture
Shrimplet on bogwood - You can just make it out next to the piece of erect moss laying across the wood.

Picture
Shrimplet sitting on Bogwood - Blurry but you can see the shrimp shape against the dark background.

I would estimate that the shrimplet is about 2mm long, and so far I have only seen one. Hopefully over the next few days a few more will come out from hiding and I can try and get some better photos.



Leave a Reply.