I brought my first Shrimps just a few months ago. To be honest they were (and I hate to admit it) a bit of an impulse buy. I was actually going out to get a few platys to add to my community tank and get a bit of colour and I saw these funny little shrimps scampering about in the tank. I was told that these Yamato Shrimp would be fine in my aquarium so I took one to start with and before I knew it I was totally in love with her and after a bit of research I was soon rushing back to the store to get her some friends.

The more I read about Shrimps the more it sparked my interest, and the more I watched my four funny little chaps the more I loved them. I became quite obsessed, even to the point of naming them (Sherman, Sheldon, Sharon and Sheryl). I totally bored my family with tales of what the shrimps were doing, but they were just so comical and entertaining to watch.

It was during my research that I started to realise the huge variety of Shrimps that were available. One in particular stood out for me, the Blue Jelly Shrimp (Neocaridina Heteropoda var. Blue Jelly). I was really lucky and managed to find a breeder who was selling them and who was also really happy to give plenty of advice (I am slowly becoming a bit of a nerd, but if it helps my Shrimp who cares).  So I placed my order with www.easishrimp.co.uk and have started off my first dedicated Shrimp tank with five of these beautiful Shrimp and will see where that takes me.

Since I received them on 23rd January they have settled really well. The tank is regularly littered with their old shells as they are growing rapidly, and they are also slowly getting their saddles (four of them appear to be females and the last one is hopefully a male) so I am anticipating the pitter patter (or splish splash) of tiny little Blue Jelly Babies in the coming months.




Leave a Reply.