I have been noticing a lot of changes in the colours of some of my shrimp, especially the first Blue Jelly Shrimp with eggs. At first she was a lovely deep blue colour, one of the strongest colourings of the five of them. I started to notice a slightly green tinge to her colouring a few days after the eggs had descended to her pleopods (swimming legs) but assumed that this was just an illusion caused by the bright yellow eggs. However, over the past week this green colouring has grown stronger and stronger and now she looks as if she is actually a green shrimp. I am sure it is just an illusion due to the mix of clear blue body and yellow eggs and is just getting stronger as the eggs grow and develop more. Looking at my second berried Blue Jelly Shrimp, her colour is still very bright blue (her eggs only appeared on her pleopods on 3rd March) so it will be interesting to see how her colour develops over the next couple of weeks.
Picture



Berried Blue Jelly - Taken earlier on, before colour change






The same Blue Jelly showing change of colouring from Blue to Green (caused by yellow eggs?)






The second Berried Blue Jelly still showing a good strong Blue colouring




The eggs on the first berried Blue Jelly are showing good signs of developing shrimplets inside. Although I am struggling to get a clear photo of them I can see dark forms (like small shadows) starting to show up inside each of the eggs as I look through my various magnifying glasses, unfortunately my camera is playing about and refusing to focus and mummy shrimp is being equally stubborn about being photographed. Based on the information I have been reading I am hoping that the new arrivals will start to appear around the beginning of next week, fingers crossed.

I am also rather hoping that my Tiger Shrimp are starting to head in the right direction as well. I have noticed that a couple of them seem to be getting darker coloured heads, like a dark inky blue colour, I am hoping that this is the first signs that they are developing their saddles. Another rather large Tiger Shrimp has remained almost crystal clear so I hope this means he is a male and backs up my theory of the other two being female, the remaining Tigers are still fairly small so hopefully they are just still maturing.
Picture
The image on the right (although a bit blurred) show a good clear colouring, possibly a sign that this one is a male Tiger, whilst the shrimp on the right is getting darker around the head and a brown colouring along the spine, so I am assuming that this one is a female. Fingers crossed.


Again, some reading suggested that feeding frozen blood worm can help speed up the process for getting shrimps breeding, so even though I have kept their diet quite varied I threw in some frozen blood worm and it was quite fun watching the shrimps going crazy for it so will try this every few days and see how they go.

I have already noticed quiet a lot of what I call 'Shrimp Wrestling' going on and a lot of cave hiding from the Tiger Shrimps which is something I had noticed a week or two prior to my Blue Jellies being Berried so hopefully this is a good sign.



Leave a Reply.